The Social Network.

I’d never really appreciated the history of Facebook, all the time and money that went into it, the relationships sacrificed for it and of course, the lawsuits it resulted in.

I’ve always kind of just assumed that it would be there, well since I became a member anyway, and I’ve never realised how large a role it plays in my life. My mother was onto something when she said that I am Facehooked.

Whenever I here something amusing or sad or a thought I want to share just pops into my head – status.

Planning a party – send out an invite on Facebook.

Attending a party – discuss outfits and have any other pre-party conversations on Facebook.

After the party – upload/view/talk about photos and relive the party.

Meet someone new – Facebook them.

Want to talk to someone who is useless with a phone – Facebook chat/inbox them or leave them a wall post.

Want to be a bitch or a gossip – status again.

Bored out of your mind – Facebook stalk. We all do it. You could probably spend hours trawling through Facebook looking for old friends and distant relatives, browsing through people’s photos, joining groups or liking pages with amusing but true names.

Facebook has :

  • More than 500 million active users
  • 50% of active users log on to Facebook in any given day
  • Average user has 130 friends
  • People spend over 700 billion minutes per month on Facebook

How long each day do you spend on facebook? How many times a day to you post  new status? How many times a day do check your Facebook page for pokes, comments and likes? Probably a lot more tan you would like to admit.

Facebook plays a central role in the lives of both the old and the young.

But my question is, is that a good or a bad thing? :s

xoxo

girlsixteen

P.S. go see The Social Network, you’ll love it 😉

About girlsixteen

I'm a sixteen year old sixth former who loves to read, write, shop and dance around my room trying on all my clothes listening to cheesy music:) feel free to read/comment/suscribe to my blog, in fact, please do! xoxo
This entry was posted in Misc. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

